What is the Quarantine?

The Quarantine feature allows you to view all of the previously detected items that were removed during a System Scan. These files have been moved to a quarantined location on your PC which prevents them from posing a security threat to your system.

If you would like to permanently remove files detected during a System Scan, the Quarantine gives you the option to fully remove threats from your PC.

You can also use the Quarantine to restore items that were mistakenly removed during the System Scan.

To view files in the Quarantine:

  • Open Spybot’s “Start Center” by right-clicking on the Spybot icon and choosing the option to “Run as administrator”.
  • Go to “Quarantine”.

FAQ Category: Quarantine, Spybot 2

What does “Purge Old” do?

“Purge Old” allows you to completely remove items from your system.

When you click on “Purge Old” a window will open allowing you to select a date.

The date you select determines which files will be deleted. Any files that were moved to the quarantine before this date will be removed permanently from your PC.

To purge the files in Spybot’s quarantine:

  • Open Spybot “Start Center” by right clicking on the icon  and choosing  “Run as administrator”.
  • Go to “Quarantine”.
  • Click on “Purge Old”, and enter the desired date.

FAQ Category: Quarantine, Spybot 2

What does Purge Selected do?

Items can be completely removed from your system by purging (permanently deleting) the selected items using the instructions below:

  • To do this, open Spybot’s “Start Center” by right-clicking on the Spybot icon and choosing the option to “Run as administrator”.
  • Go to “Quarantine”.
  • Select the items you wish to remove and then click “Purge Selected”.
  • Once these items have been “Purged”, they cannot be restored.

Purge Selected allows you to select which files you want to permanently remove from your PC.

Once you have selected all the desired items, you can click “Purge Selected” to permanently remove the files from your PC.


FAQ Category: Quarantine, Spybot 2

How do I view the Quarantine log?

To view the Quarantine log:

  • Open Spybot’s “Start Center” by right-clicking on the icon and choosing the option to “Run as administrator”.
  • Go to “Quarantine”.
  • Click on “Show repair logs”.

FAQ Category: Quarantine, Spybot 2

How do I restore previously removed files that are in Quarantine?

If you want to restore previously removed files for whatever reason you can do this using Spybot’s “Quarantine“.

Quarantine can be either launched via the Start Center.

  • Open Spybot by right clicking on the Spybot icon and choosing the option to “Run as Administrator”.
  • Go to Quarantine.
  • Here, you can select/deselect files to purge (remove permanently from your PC) or restore.

They can also be found in SDTray’s program list.

  • Right click on the Spybot – Search & Destroy icon in your system tray beside the Windows clock and navigate to “Basic Tools” then “Quarantine”.
  • Once “Quarantine” has been started, feel free to select the product you want to restore and hit “Restore selected”.

FAQ Category: Quarantine, Spybot 2

How do I use the quarantine feature?

If you want to restore previously removed files for whatever reason you can do this via the Quarantine module. Quarantine can be either launched via the Start Center or can also be found in SDTray’s program list.
Just right click on the Spybot – Search & Destroy icon in your system tray beside the Windows clock and navigate to “Basic Tools“ → “Quarantine“. Once “Quarantine“ has been started feel free to select the product you want to restore and hit “Restore selected“.
If you want to get rid of fixed entries permanently just hit the purge selected button.


FAQ Category: Quarantine, Spybot 2